Short stories

I like reading, but unfortunately, I don't get much time to read for pleasure these days. Adding to that sorry state of affairs is the fact that I'm a slow reader. When I do read nowadays, it is more of non-fiction. On those rare occasions that I do read fiction, I love a good short story.

Apart from being concise, short stories stay focused and leave a lot to the imagination. They appeal to the minimalist in me. They build around a key idea or theme and my favorite kind have a twist or climax at the very end. An extreme and wonderful example is Ernest Hemmingway's six word story: "For sale: Baby shoes. Never used".

Here are some short stories that I came across on the internet in recent times. I think they are marvelous and recommend them to you, my imaginary readers. One for each of you three :-D

If you have a short story recommendation, leave a comment! :-)

9 thoughts on “Short stories

  1. If you liked Asimov and C. Clarke, it is essential you will read the trilogy of Foundation, from Asimov, and 2001-A space Odissey from C. Clarke.
    These guys are also great: Frank Herbert – Dune Series; Orson Scott Card – Ender’s Game; and William Gibson – Burning Crome (it is a book of short stories.
    Good Scifing! ;)
    Coco
    http://cocosworld.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks for the recommendations. All of those are on my list ;-) I’ve seen Dune and 2001, but haven’t read either. I’ve read a couple of books by William Gibson, Neuromancer and Pattern Recognition. I’ll definitely check out Burning Chrome. I didn’t realize/remember that it was a collection of short stories.

  3. There is one short story (“This Blessed House”)I heard from “This American Life” just recently. I ended up buying the book that has that story. It’s not a science-fiction, but a very good one. The author’s name is Jhumpa Lahiri.. the title of the book is “interpreter of maladies”.

  4. I’ve read ‘The Interpreter of Maladies’. There were more than a few stories that I liked in that book. I don’t remember the titles, but I do remember outlines from some of those stories. I can’t recall if ‘This Blessed House’ was one of those. Thanks for the tip! :-)

  5. Have you checked out The Unbinding on Slate.com? I don’t know if this qualifies as a short story since this is a work in progress and nobody knows where and when it will end. I think it’s pretty good SciFi faire! Check it out.

  6. I hadn’t heard of it. Just checked it out to see what it’s all about. It’s a cool idea. I’ll wander over there some other time to read some of it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

