Stranger in a Strange Land [Book]

29Oct09

This book is a treatise on human culture, with an emphasis on faith and spirituality. It is sci-fi as set in contemporary 21st century. The book can feel a bit dated, and it helps to imagine the US in the 60s to get some perspective. I particularly enjoyed the early experiences of Mike Smith (the “Man from Mars”) as he encounters human civilization for the first time and tries his best to “grok” it. His discoveries present interesting quirks of humanity that make one chuckle and laugh. Laughter itself makes a revealing impression on Mike.

Thanks to the Multnomah County Library!

Book page on Amazon.com
Book page on Wikipedia

2 Responses to “Stranger in a Strange Land [Book]”

  1. 1 caleb

    There are like 3 or 4 books that I've started but haven't finished in the last 10 or so years. You somehow seem to have magically isolated this set and are reading them in turn. First Foundation, now this. I guess I should finish this one too, eh?

  2. Ha! They are good. This one I read because I had not heard of Heinlein until recently and this is regarded as his major work. If you want to prioritize, I recommend going with Foundation. I found that a lot more enjoyable. I'm reading a collection of Asimov's short stories nowadays and thoroughly enjoying them. I just might have to read all his work! :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

